Watercolour textures

Watercolour lends itself to creating texture in many different ways.  For my fourth of five painted tondos I wanted to find ways of replicating  the amorphous shapes found in marble, and the splodges and spatters of paint on my studio table covering.  I did some research to get ideas and made several swatches to practise.

The hand-written captions sum up what I did.  In general I found;

1) the degree of wetness of the wash when the texture technique is applied greatly influences the outcome – the wetter the wash the more subtle and softer-edged the texture;  if it’s done too early the texture will disappear altogether as it dries.

2) the pigment(s) used affect the outcome, each reacting differently, and this is something I’ll have to learn as I gain more experience.

I used lightweight rough-textured Arches cotton rag paper as this is what I’m using for the painting that prompted these experiments.  It has quite a fragile surface which pulled off rather easily when removing tape and masking fluid, and was easily damaged when rubbing to lift paint.  I used a much tougher paper for the sandpaper swatch.

 

When I did the painting – scissors on a table tondo – I learned that care is needed using wax resist not to apply too much, as it can’t later be removed or painted over with watercolour.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

